Los Angeles Lakers

Basketball Champions

Storied History

The Los Angeles Lakers, one of the NBA's most successful franchises, added to their storied history with an inspiring season topped off by winning their 15th NBA Championship. The 2008-09 Lakers emerged as the top seed in the Western Conference after finishing the regular season with 65 wins and the second best record in the NBA. The Lakers have only missed the NBA playoffs five times in their 60-year history in the NBA and true to its winning heritage, this year's team was defined by its wins.

Finals Again

After renewing their legendary rivalry with the Boston Celtics and losing in The Finals the previous season, the Lakers turned their team’s adversity into accomplishment in 2009. They outplayed the Utah Jazz in the first round of the playoffs en route to rolling to The Finals for the second straight year.

Title Back To Tinsletown

Prime-time performances by Kobe Bryant, Paul Gasol, Lamar Odom, Derek Fisher and Trevor Ariza fueled the Lakers' momentum throughout the remainder of the playoffs to bring the NBA Title back to Tinseltown. Wheaties® salutes the Los Angeles Lakers— a team of true champions.

NBA and NBA team identifications are the intellectual property of NBA properties, Inc. and the NBA teams. ©2010 NBA Properties, Inc. All rights reserved.

Connect with Champions everywhere you are.